Call for Entries for Excellence in African Storytelling


By Media Rights Agenda

Luis Botello, Deputy Vice President. International Center for Journalists
The International Centre for Journalists (ICFJ) in conjunction with ONE and the Elliott family are calling for entries for the 2018 Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling.
The second edition of the prestigious award will honor an up-and-coming journalist in Africa who tells important stories through quality reporting.
The contest is open to journalists working for print, broadcast and online news media based in Africa and only English-language submissions or translations will be accepted.
The award will provide the winner with a $5,000 cash prize to pursue an in-depth reporting project. In a special study tour organized by ICFJ, the winner will spend time in U.S. newsrooms to learn new skills and share knowledge. In order to take full advantage of the study tour, applicants must speak English, even if they work in another language.
Interested applicants must be up-and-coming, English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast and online news media with no more than 10 years of journalism experience. Applicants must submit one published story that reflects top-notch storytelling about important issues as part of the application process.
Applicants can submit a feature story; an in-depth, investigative or explanatory piece; or a multimedia report or documentary.
The application closes on December 31, 2017.
For more information and application, please visit:

Facebook Comments