Delta APC factional differences fester, thrive; group reject Erue, insist on Ogodo


The unresolved factional difference in the All Progressives Congress (APC), in Delta State appears to be festering and thriving.

An indication to this is the statement by a group that identified itself as “Leaders and stakeholders of the APC in Delta state,” rejecting the chairmanship of Prophet Jones Erue, and describing his swearing-in by the National Chairman of the party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole as illegal and unconstitutional.

Frowning at the harmonization of the State Executive Committee by Oshiomhole, they told the National Chairman to work with the Chief Cyril Ogodo-led executive who they said participated at the national convention among other delegates from other states of the Federation to elect him (Oshiomhole) as National chairman of the party.

The party members, in a communique read by Mr Alex Onwudiamu at the end of a meeting held in Asaba, the state capital, said “Erue was not a product of the party’s congress”, describing his swearing-in was “repugnant to natural justice, equity and good conscience.”

The communique read: “The purported moves by Jones Ode Erue pretending to reconcile aggrieved members and a group of people who never contested elections, parading as state executives is a smokescreen preparatory to his working for the state ruling party, PDP as he has also done in time past.

“The state congress of 21st May, 2018 which elected Chief Cyril Ogodo remains valid and not subject of any litigation and or consent judgment howsoever. Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo remains the Chairman of APC, Delta state who had earlier been sworn in by the former National Chairman, Chief Odigie Oyegun on 4th June.

“The Ward /local government executives elected on the 5th and 12th of May, 2018 respectively remain the authentic executives at the ward and local government levels as authenticated by the National Working Committee.”

While pointing out that the election of the State officers of the party had not been invalidated by any Court of law, and so, remains valid and subsisting, the communique noted that “the APC remains one in Delta state under the leadership of Olorogun O.tega Emerhor/Dr. Ibe Kachukwu, Minister of State for Petroleum.

“We remain the authentic APC majority in Delta state, ready and able to take over the reigns of governance from the PDP government of Dr Ifeanyi Okowa come 2019.

“We support and pass a vote of confidence on President Muhammadu Buhari’s good governance, war against corruption and adopt him for the second term with attendant votes for him, come the 2019 general election,” the communique stated

Facebook Comments