Delta Govt plans portable water boost for 10 urban towns; Koko mini sports arena gets approval


Ten urban towns in Delta State are to enjoy portable water supply following the approval of the state Executive Council for the construction of five-kilometre water pipeline extension.
The Commissioner for Information, Mr. Patrick Ukah, who stated this today, Wednesday (20/03/2019) at a press briefing after the state Executive Council meeting held in Government House, Asaba, and presided over by the Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, said that the approval was to ameliorate the effects of water scarcity in the towns.
According to him, the towns are Issele Uku, Patani, Oghara-Efe, Ozoro, Kwale, Koko, Orerokpe, Burutu, Obiaruku and Ogwashi Uku.
Ukah revealed that the Council also approved the completion of the construction of obstacle-free zone for the runway of the Asaba International Airport (Sectors A and C) as part of the measure to fulfil requirements of Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) for the upgrade of the airport.
In addition, he said that the renovation/remodelling of the Clinical Building at the Delta State University Teaching Hospital, Oghara, Ethiope East Local Government Area and completion of outstanding works on the construction of the Mini Sports Arena, Koko in Warri North Local Government Area was approved.
The construction of Bethel Oborevwori Crescent/Humphrey Odili Street, Osubi to link James Ovie Street in Okuokoko, and the construction of Okuomowa Road, Osubi to link Etakpo Lane/Macnero Road, Okuokoko both in Okpe Local Government Area were also approved.
According to the Commissioner for Information, other roads approved are the completion of Effurun Otor/Iwhrekekan/Ughewughe/Eruemukohwaren/Otor-Edo/Usiefurun (phase 1) in Ughelli South Local Government Area and the construction/rehabilitation of Owhe-Ologbo internal roads (Phase I) in Isoko North Local Government Area.
Also included are the construction of Ebise Road, Ekrudo Road and Odumere Road, all in Oria Abraka in Ethiope East Local Government Area, alongside the construction/rehabilitation of internal roads in Orogun such as Hospital Road and Ossai Road.
The Council equally approved the appointment of HRM, Emmanuel Warewini Arikawei as the Ebenanaowei of Obotebe Kingdom in Burutu Local Government Area.

Facebook Comments