Ahmed Lawan emerges new Senate President, Omo-Agege Deputy Senate President


Ahmed Lawan, new President of the Nigerian Senate.

Ovie Omo-Agege, new Deputy President of the Nigerian Senate

Senator Ahmed Lawan has been elected the Senate President of the 9th Senate, as he defeated his contestant, Senator Ali Ndume.
Also elected as the Deputy Senate President is Senator Ovia Omo-Agege after a contest with the former Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu
As at press time, counting so far showed that Lawan was leading with 68 votes while counting continues. There are 107 senators currently at the Senate and Lawan has already scored over half of the votes
Omo-Agege (APC-Delta) scored 68 votes in the election today, Tuesday, 11/6/2019 inside the Senate chamber in Abuja, to defeat Ekweremadu.
The Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori, announced the results of the election in Abuja after counting the votes.
He said out of the 105 senators-elect who voted in the election, 68 cast their votes for Omo-Agege while 37 voted for Ekweremadu.
‘‘I wish to announce that the election for the office of the deputy senate president has been concluded.
‘‘At the end of the election, 105 senators-elect votes, one senator-elect abstained and there was one invalid vote.
‘‘Therefore, Omo-Agege, having scored the highest votes is hereby declared elected as the deputy senate president of the 9th Senate,” he said. (NAN)

Facebook Comments