Delta lawmakers take finicky look at Dr Ononye’s attitude; scold him for bad telephone manners, as Assembly confirms commissioner nominees


Delta Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori.

The Delta State House of Assembly today, Tuesday, July 23, 2019 took a critical look at the attitude of one of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa’s commissioner nominees, Dr. Mordi Ononye and scolded for exhibiting bad telephone manners while he was the state’s immediate past commissioner for health.
Dr. Ononye who appeared along with other nine commissioner nominees for screening at the House of assembly for the Assembly’s confirmation and appointment into the state’s Executive Council was taken on by Hon. Izeze Rume Reuben who spoke forcefully, and complained bitterly against Dr. Ononye’s attitude of ignoring telephone calls made to him and never responding and returning the calls to him even by the lawmakers who are the representatives of the people.
After educating the commissioner nominee on the fact that his appearance with others for screening before the House of assembly is a constitutional demandof Section 192 of the Constitution as amended, without which he could not be confirmed as a commissioner, Hon. Reuben then asked Ononye, saying: “Dr. Ononye have you got a new phone now?” And to which the obviously humbled Dr. Ononye laboriously responded, “I have a new phone.”
The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, presiding at plenary urged Dr Ononye to take telephone calls seriously, especially calls coming from the legislators who are the representatives of the people.
Meanwhile, the legislators went ahead to confirm Dr. Ononye and the other nine, who are the last set of ten nominees for appointment as Commissioners and members of the Delta State Executive Council.
The nominees were confirmed following a motion to that effect by the Deputy Majority Leader of the House, Hon Oboro Preyor, seconded by Hon Emmanuel Sinebe, Patani and was unanimously adopted.
The nominees now Commissioners designates include, Mr Charles Ehiedu Aniagwu, Mr Ifeanyi Egwunyenga, Dr Mordi Ononye, Hon Ovie Oghoore, Prince Emmanuel Amgbaduba, Mrs Gbubemi Ikolo, Mr Matthew Tsekiri, Mr Christain Onogba, Mr Mofe Pirah and Chief Henry Sakpra.
The Commissioners designate had earlier been screened on the floor of the house during plenary, presided by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sherrif Oborevwori.
Governor Okowa in the letter nominating the ten appointees said the nomination is in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 192, sub section two of the constitution of federal republic of Nigeria as amended.

Facebook Comments