Delta inaugurates 8th Assembly, Guwor emerges Speaker, Akpowhowho Deputy Speaker

Delta inaugurates 8th Assembly, Guwor emerges Speaker, Akpowhowho Deputy Speaker

By Chukwudi Abiandu with

Reports from Nkem Nwaeke, DBS Warri

The 8th Assembly of Delta State legislative house has taken off following its inauguration, with a 44- year-old two-term member of the Assembly, Emomotimi Dennis Guwor, (Warri South West Constituency) emerging the Speaker.

The inauguration followed a proclamation to that effect by the State Governor, Rt Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, which came immediately after an opening prayer said by the Member Elect for Oshimili South, Bridget Anyafulu, which set the tone for the kick off of a new dispensation in democratic governance in Delta State.

Acting Clerk of the House, Mr Otos Aghoghopia read the Governor’s proclamation letter at exactly 10:10am, Tuesday, 13 June 2023, in the hallowed chamber of the State Assembly

The proclamation letter as read by the Acting Clerk of the House, was followed by a roll call of members elect of the 29 state constituencies as forwarded by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The names were read out by Mr Aghoghopia in an alphabetical order, starting with the member elect for Aniocha North, Hon Emeka Nwaobi and ending with member elect for Warri South West, Emomotimi Guwor.

The Acting Clerk thereafter presided over the elections and swearing in of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 8th Assembly.

A two term member of the House, Emomotimi Guwor, (Warri SouthWest) was elected the Speaker of the 8th Assembly following the unanimous adoption of his nomination by the member representing Isoko South two, Ferguson Onwo and seconded by Marilyn Okowa-Daramola, (Ika North East).

The nomination of Arthur Akpowhowho, a first timer, representing Ethiope East Constituency by Hon Festus Okoh, Ika South and seconded by the member representing Sapele constituency, Perkins Umukoro, saw his emergence as the Deputy Speaker of the house.

The oaths of office were administered to the elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker by the Acting Clerk of the House, Mr Otos Aghoghopia in line with the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria as altered.

First to take oath of office and oath of allegiance was the Deputy Speaker, Hon Arthur Akpowhowho, immediately followed by the Speaker, Rt Hon Emomotimi Dennis Guwor.

Rt. Hon. Guwor in his acceptance speech, said that the tasks ahead were enormous and promised to pilot the affairs of the House with every sense of responsibility, even as he called for maximum support from members and all other relevant stakeholders.

Guwor assured that the interest of the state would be of top priority, pointing out that the House of Assembly would perform its constitutional duties diligently without fear or favour as its activities would centre on advancing Delta vision of the present administration.

The Speaker said he would do his best to provide the required leadership for the 8th Assembly and to ensure sound cordial relationship between the State Legislature and the other arms of government in the state.

The Speaker, thereafter swore-in other elected members of the House also in line with the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria and the rules of the State Assembly.

Those that took oath of office included, Emeka Nwaobi, Aniocha North, Isaac Anwuzia, Aniocha South; Oboro Preyor, Bomadi; Anthony Alapala, Burutu one; Pereotu Oloye, Burutu Two; Blessing Achoja, Ethiope West; Marilyn Okowa-Daramola, Ika North East; Festus Okoh, Ika South; Bernard Odior, Isoko North; Bino Obowomano, Isoko South One; Ferguson Onwo, Isoko South Two; Prince Emeka Samuta, Ndokwa East and Charles Emetulu, Ndokwa West.

Others were James Augoye, Okpe; Frank Esenwah, Oshimili North; Bridget Anyafulu, Oshimili South; Emmanuel Sinebe, Patani; Collins Egbetamah, Udu; Matthew Omonade, Ughelli North One; Spencer Ohwofa, Ughelli North Two; Festus Utuama, Ughelli South; Perkins Umukoro, Sapele; Chukwudi Dafe, Ukwuani; Edafe Emakpor, Uvwie; Fred Martins, Warri North; Austin Uroye, Warri South One and Benson Obire, Warri South Two,

The Member Representing Ndokwa West Constituency, subsequently moved a motion directing the Clerk to inform the Governor, Rt Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori that the 8th Assembly has been fully constituted and elected Rt. Hon. Emomotimi Guwor and Arthur Akpowhowho as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively.

The motion was seconded by the Member Representing Aniocha North, Emeka Nwaobi and was unanimously adopted.

The House adjourned till Tuesday, June 27, 2023, following a motion moved by the Member Representing Bomadi Constituency, Oboro Preyor and seconded by the Member Representing Ndokwa East, Hon Emeka Samuta

The Speaker later led members to the chapel of the State Assembly for a brief thanksgiving service.

Leave your vote

Facebook Comments

Delta State House of Assembly Latest News Legislature News Niger Delta Nigeria Politics