Erijo emerges Chairman of Isoko South PDP caucus

Erijo emerges Chairman of Isoko South PDP caucus


In what can be described as a seamless transition of political leadership, Hon Prince Johnson Erijo, Chief of Staff to the Governor of Delta State, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori, has been selected and unanimously endorsed as Chairman of the Isoko South caucus of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, at a meeting of the caucus held in Asaba on Monday.

Erijo, a long serving former member of the Delta State House of Assembly representing Isoko South Constituency 2 and former Director General of the State Directorate of Projects Monitoring, succeeds High Chief Ross Uredi who opted to bow out of the chairmanship position after almost eight years of resoundingly successful leadership.

Endorsed also as Vice Chairman of the caucus was Hon Erezi Esievo (Overflow), also former member of the House of Assembly representing Isoko South Constituency 1, former Commissioner and currently Executive Director, Legal, in the Delta State Board of Internal Revenue.

The choice of Erijo as successor to Uredi was generally welcomed and applauded as well deserved by elders and leaders of all the wards of Isoko South in consideration of his deep knowledge of the political history of the state, inestimable wealth of experience, long years of service and especially for his huge contributions not only to the successes of the party but also to the development and progress of Isoko nation as a whole.

The elders pointed out that his selection was very fitting considering that he had been serving as Vice Chairman and is well acquainted with the issues and challenges of leadership, as well as having consistently proved his faithfulness to the party and commitment through selfless sacrifices to the progress of Isoko nation.

According to Chief Uredi, the selection of the new caucus leadership was carefully made to ensure balanced representation, pointing out that while he as outgoing chairman is from Constituency 1, the chairmanship has now rotated to Constituency 2, while the Vice Chairman has been chosen from Constituency 1. Moreso, the selection has also ensured gender balance.

In his acceptance speech, Erijo thanked Chief Uredi for his contributions and leadership acumen while as Chairman, and the elders and leaders for unanimously endorsing him.

Pointing out that leadership is not a one-man affair, he enjoined all to cooperate and work with him towards providing purpose leadership for the greater unity, stability and continued success of the PDP, and especially for increased development and progress of Isoko nation and Delta State.

He called out to elders and leaders of the party to strive to respectfully engage all members of the party towards achieving a united front.

Present at the occasion was Evangelist Chief Solomon Ogba, leader of the caucus, Chief Joe Arausi, elder and Isoko South Coordinator in the just concluded general elections, High Chief Iduh Amadhe, Grand Patron of Isoko Development Union, Hon Ferguson Onwo and Hon Bino Owhede, members of the Delta State House of Assembly representing Isoko South constituencies 2 and 1, respectively, Chief Mike Edegware, immediate past Executive Secretary of the Delta State Board of Internal Revenue, Chief Emamusi Obiodeh, Delta State Commissioner for Lands and Survey, Churchill Amagada, immediate past Commissioner for Lands and Survey, Mrs Philo Apena, Chairman of the Delta State Board of Technical and Vocational Education, Arc Joe Iroro, former Chairman of Isoko South LGA Council, Chief D J Jamaho,
Chief Nicodemus Okuegha, Dr Ben Adolor, Chief Austin Igbine, Chief Jimmy Oboewu, Barrister Duncan Afahokor, the Ododo of Umeh Kingdom, Barr Afor Irogbo, Pastor TOS Powell, Mr Fred Edoreh, SSA (Media) to the Governor, and a host of highly distinguished elders, leaders and eminent members of the PDP caucus drawn from all the wards.

Leave your vote

Facebook Comments

Delta State Latest News News Nigeria Politics